Here at Flapjackery, we want to cater for everyone, which is why you can find vegan and dairy-free flapjacks in our shop. What’s more, we make sure that all of our recipes use gluten-free ingredients. Our unchanging recipe ensures that our flavours are exceptional and appealing. So, what’s the deal with gluten-free ingredients? Why use them, does it change their texture, their taste? Read on to find out...
As we said, we want to cater for everybody.
In the UK, there are an estimated 9 million people with a gluten-free diet. 1 in 100 people have coeliac disease, hypersensitivity to gluten, and around 20,000 have irritable bowel syndrome, which can be exacerbated by eating gluten. Recent research has also found a correlation between chronic illnesses, such as fibromyalgia, and gluten intolerance. Those eating a gluten-free diet deserve some treats too, right?
While most oats are gluten-free, they contain the protein avenin, which has similar properties to gluten. Not only this but many oats are processed alongside wheat and barley, leading to contamination. We make sure that all of our recipes contain strictly gluten-free oats.
By keeping our basic recipe simple, with chunky gluten-free oats, the luxurious flavours we add to the mix really get the chance to sing, be that raspberries, honeycomb chunks or peanut butter swirls.
Gluten free food has had some pretty bad press. Even we have had some bad experiences. Ever tried a gluten-free meal to find it tastes stale or a little like cardboard? Well never fear. Gluten-free oats, much like gluten-free flour, have a sweet and nutty flavour, as well as a dense texture. Combined with west country butter, brown sugar and golden syrup you get the ideal chewy texture and taste that’s perfect for flapjacks.
Whether you’re gluten-free or not, we have delicious flavours to suit everyone’s palette. No more feeling left out with bland and boring treats, here at Flapjackery, we want everyone to enjoy little moments of sweet, gluten-free, bliss!